News

Building a vocabulary for change

šŸŒ»

LinkedIn0
The CreaTures Glossary enables a collaborative meaning-making related to terms in eco-social transformation (image credit: Amira Hanafi).

Amira Hanafi invites you to join an online, collaborative writing workshop as part of theĀ CreaTures GlossaryĀ project. During each 90-minute workshop, we’ll play language and meaning-making games in a relaxed, collaborative space.Ā Together, we’re writing a glossary of words and phrases to talk about the change we’d like to see in the world. Anyone can participate.

Online workshops

Tuesday, 19 April 2022 on Zoom
10:30am – 12:00pm New York | 4:30 – 6:00pm Cairo
Sign up

Friday, 22 April 2022 on Zoom
2:00 – 3:30pm New York | 8:00 – 9:30pm Cairo
Sign up

Workshop for young people

Do you know any high school students who might be interested in learning more about language in a fun, interactive environment? A workshop especially for people aged 12-19 years will take place on Saturday, 23 April 2022 at 15:30 UTC (9 pm India, 5:30 pm Italy, 11:30 am Eastern Daylight Time), in the framework of the Electronic Literature Organization’s Annual Conference.Ā Learn more and sign up here.

About the Glossary

The CreaTures Glossary is an experimental production commissioned by CreaTures, and carried out by Amira Hanafi. Reference works like dictionaries, glossaries, and thesauri usually give an elite group of experts the authority to assign meanings to words, even though language is a dynamic social thing. The Glossary thinks of language as belonging to no one in particular and to everyone at the same time, and is therefore built to distribute the power to define language throughout the community or collective that interacts with it. The project includes games,Ā a website, workshops, and other interactions that facilitate language as a social practice.Ā Learn more about the project.

About the artist

Amira Hanafi is a poet, cultural worker, and artist working with language as a material and making systems and games to prompt and play with different kinds of language.